Open Atlantic

The “Open Atlantic” tank is the heart of OZEANEUM’s aquaria. It has a capacity of 2.6 million litres and is the largest aquarium at OZEANEUM. The cylinder-shaped pool is 9 metres deep and has a diameter of 17 metres. You can watch its dwellers from two levels through a huge panoramic window which is 30 centimetres thick in order to withstand the enormous water pressure.

New in 2018 and a real eyecatcher is a nearly 11 meters long ship wreck which is the habitat of various fish species such as corkwings, gilthead seabreams and sea basses. The wreck itself is the reduced replica of a cargo ship sunken in the year 1909.

The “Open Atlantic” tank is home to sand tiger shark lady Niki. In 2012, she was transferred from Berlin Zoo since her local aquarium had become too small. From then on she has been splashing about OZEANEUM’s “Open Atlantic” pool along with majestic eagle rays. Watch the synchronous swimming behaviour of schools of mackerels with hundreds of individuals.

From the lower “bottom of the sea” level you can catch a good view on stingrays, groupers and black seabreams. The pool’s bottom is the favourite resting spot of “Anna” and “Anton” our two big nurse sharks.

Aquarium Offener Atlantik

Das Herzstück des Aquarienbereichs und zugleich das mit 2,6 Mio. Litern Inhalt größte Aquarium des OZEANEUMs ist das Becken "Offener Atlantik". Von zwei Ebenen können Sie seine riesigen Dimensionen mit einer Tiefe von neun Metern und einem Durchmesser von 17 Metern betrachten. Die Acrylscheibe des 50 Quadratmeter großen Panoramafensters ist 30 Zentimeter dick, um dem großen Wasserdruck standhalten zu können.

Blickfang des 2018 umgestalteten Aquariums ist ein fast 11 Meter langes Schiffswrack. Dieses bietet verschiedenen Aquarienbewohnern wie Goldmaids, Doraden und Wolfsbarschen einen Lebensraum. Das Wrack selbst ist der verkleinerte Nachbau eines 1909 gesunkenen Frachtschiffs.

Im Aquarium "Offener Atlantik" lebt die fast drei Meter lange Sandtigerhaidame Niki. Sie wurde 2012 aus dem Berliner Zooaquarium übernommen, da ihr Aquarium dort zu klein geworden war. Zusammen mit majestätischen Adlerrochen, Stechrochen, Zackenbarschen und Streifenbrassen zieht sie seitdem im OZEANEUM ihre Runden. Beobachten Sie das synchrone Schwimmverhalten der Makrelenschwärme.

 

Von der unteren Etage, dem sogenannten „Meeresgrund“ lassen sich Stechrochen, Zackenbarsche und Streifenbrassen gut beobachten. Der Beckengrund ist beliebter Ruheplatz für die beiden großen Ammenhaie „Anna“ und „Anton“.